Award Winning Books

Caldecott Award Winners

Newberry Medal and Honor Books

Massachusetts Children's Book Award



Award Recipients:

2015 - James Skofield for his book Bear and Bird

2014 - Beatrice Gormley for her book Friends of Liberty

2013 - Henry Cole for his book Unspoken

2012 - Lois Lowry for her book Dear America: Like the Willow Tree

2011 - Gregory Mone for his book Fish

2010 - Jane Yolen for her book My Uncle Emily

2009 - Kay Winters for her book Colonial Voices: Hear Them Speak

2008 - Milton Meltzer for his book Tough Times


The Carol Otis Hurst Children’s Book Prize, established in 2007 to celebrate the life and work of noted children’s author Carol Otis Hurst, honors outstanding works of fiction and non-fiction, including biography and memoir, written for children and young adults through the age of eighteen that exemplify the highest standards of research, analysis, and authorship in their portrayal of the New England Experience.

The prize ($500) will be presented annually to an author whose book treats the region’s history as broadly conceived to encompass one or more of the following elements: political experience, social development, fine and performing artistic expression, domestic life and arts, transportation and communication, changing technology, military experience at home and abroad, schooling, business and manufacturing, workers and the labor movement, agriculture and its transformation, racial and ethnic diversity, religious life and institutions, immigration and adjustment, sports at all levels, and the evolution of popular entertainment. The public presentation of the prize will be accompanied by a reading and/or talk by the recipient at a mutually agreed upon time during the spring immediately following the publication year. All traveling expenses will be covered by the Athenaeum.


  1. The prize is restricted to books concerned with the theme, The New England Experience, as defined above.
  2. Books must have been copyrighted in their original format during the calendar year, January 1 to December 31, of the year preceding the year in which the prize is awarded.
  3. Neither anthologies nor updated or revised editions of previously published works are eligible.
  4. The prize may be awarded to a single author, co-authors, or author and illustrator as named on the title page of the book.
  5. Nominees for the prize must be living at the time that their books are submitted.
  6. Any individual, publisher, or organization may nominate a book.
  7. Books may be self-published.
  8. All questions of eligibility will be resolved and final decisions rendered by the Hurst Prize judges.


  1. Complete an Entry Form (pdf, 1 page) for each title submitted.
  2. Send the completed form and three copies of the book to the following address:
    Carol Otis Hurst Children’s Book Prize
    Westfield Athenaeum
    6 Elm Street
    Westfield, MA 01085
  3. All books and completed entry forms must be received by December 31 of the calendar year’s entries being judged.
  4. Books may be submitted by authors, agents, publishers or others so authorized by the author.
  5. Judges may also call for submissions.
  6. The Entry Form must be signed by those who have made the submission, and their contact information must be kept current during the judging period.
  7. Receipt of all books will be acknowledged.
  8. All books submitted become the property of the Westfield Athenaeum.
  9. The book’s cover, brief excerpts from the text, and its illustrations may be used to publicize the Prize and its recipient.
  10. No entry fee is required.

Please direct all questions regarding the Hurst Prize to Sarah Scott, Youth Services Librarian at the Westfield Athenaeum, at the above address or by telephone at 413-562-6158 ext. 5.


WestAth twitter WestAth facebook